Preserving your dataset on an USB-stick or at a repository and maybe get some citations?

12 Apr

PhDaily

After four years of working on a dataset for your PhD, you might be tempted to put it on an USB-stick, drop it in a drawer and never look at it again. On the other hand, your hard work can also be useful for other researchers and maybe generate some extra citations to your work. That’s why I decided to publish the dataset I created for my dissertation on iconic photographs in an official online repository. It contains 5.344 photos that were published in 411 Dutch History textbooks in the period 1970 – 2000.

My dataset is published at the KNAW Institute DANS (Data Archiving Network Systems) that not only assists you in a great way to make your data accessible but also guarantees its sustainability, something I cannot assure myself since I always lose my USB-sticks.

Unfortunately it is not quite common yet to share your data after publication…

View original post 720 woorden meer

Geef een reactie

